Some people believe holding sports events are too expensive, such as olympic games,and the world cup. But others think in opponent way. Discuss both opinion, and give your own view.

It is controversial that the expenditure on holding sports events is incredibly high. I agree with this, for it tightens a national budget from many constructions regardless of the fact that it may not be too costly thanks to the expected financial gains. On the one hand, nations spend a lot of public funds on sports events, which can be invested in other immediate areas. In other words, a majority of national budgets go to the construction of stadiums and accommodations for athletes and visitors. For instance, the Tokyo Olympics, which was held in 2008, cost more than a billion dollars to clear the expansive areas to establish what was called "a village" with roads, mansions and exercise facilities such as swimming pools and running fields. Furthermore, the final costs exceeded much more than it was planned and the extra money was deducted from individual taxes of those living in the host country. Consequently, more significant areas such as education and welfare remained insufficiently invested, forcing an unsatisfactory life for the citizens. On the other hand, governments often gain more earnings from such international sports events, which are distributed for the improvement of the life of each person in the country. Indeed, Japan obtained more than 15 billion dollars as more foreign travellers visited the country and dropped money on diverse sectors including the games, hotels and restaurants, which outweighed by far their spending. Therefore, the national economy has been boosted dramatically since the Olympic games, making it one of the dominant nations with the highest GDP. Moreover, the earnings from the event were invested to raise the quality of their life. For example, the Japanese government spent about 30% of the money on educational programs to provide elementary school children with learning tablets, from which they were able to access various information and study more interactively with others. In conclusion, I believe that the expenditure of holding sports games is too high, increasing financial burdens for citizens with more buildings roads and facilities. However, the financial gains could often compensate for the loss and be spent to promote a standard of individual life.