Some people believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop childrens’ life skills than time spent reading

Many today would argue that the best way to aid in a child’s life skills development is to take part in active pursuits, rather than more passive ones such as reading. I am generally in agreement though reading has become increasingly important in contemporary society. Those who argue against this contention point to the primacy of reading. In the past, large proportions of the world’s population were illiterate. Today, children must be able to read in order to interact with the world online. It could be argued that reading, and writing by extension, are the two most important life skills children can learn. Without them, children will feel alienated from mainstream culture and not be able to stay in touch with friends and family, apply online for jobs, and do research on the internet. However, reading skills develop organically for children and there are more critical skills that are often neglected in a technological society. Most people would relate to the experience of watching their grandparents display a wide range of life skills including automotive maintenance, cooking, and sewing. These life skills have diverse applicability. A person who is adept with their hands will be able to handle a variety of household tasks, repairs, and renovations. Moreover, there are less concrete benefits. These activities are likely to make an individual more creative, and physically and mentally healthier. Research has shown that more time spent being active, and less time on devices, improves mood, develops lateral thinking ability, and lessens the risk of chronic anxiety disorders. In conclusion, despite the centrality of reading due to advances in technology, truly valuable life skills require more active participation. Unfortunately, shifts in society related to technology are likely irreversible.