Some people think that the government should pay one of the parents of very young children to stay at home to look after their children. What do you think would be the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

Being a parent is a huge responsibility. In order to provide a better standard of living for their children, both parents opt to work making child-rearing difficult, resulting in neglecting parenthood. Although there are many daycare centres, the child might not be given proper attention and care. As a result, some people believe that government should sponsor a family with a young child so that one parent stays at home and attend their child. I believe that there are various benefits and drawbacks of the policy and will further provide details on the course of the essay. To commence with, the biggest benefactors of the plan would be the parents and seems practical in countries with low populations. Canada, for example, has implemented the policy as their population is relatively lower and has encouraged the local citizens to have more children. In addition, the parent will be able to spend more time with their children, resulting in their improved social and cognitive skills. On the contrary, there are a few drawbacks as well. The budget allocated to support the family of young children might be overwhelming affecting the overall budget as it drains the capital. Children are assets to the nation, however, child-rearing is not productive as it does not have any impact on GDP. Moreover, it has negative impacts in countries that have overpopulation. India, for instance, has a relatively large community and it does not seem practical to fund the public to have more children as this may lead to financial difficulties in the country. In conclusion, after a thorough analysis of the subject, I believe that while there are advantages like child’s development and growth in population, countries with more people will have many disadvantages in terms of their finances and the overall budget allocation.