Some people feel that social media encourages antisocial behaviour, such as bullying and cheating, while others disagree that this is the case. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Certain individuals argue that social media encourages antisocial behaviour such as bullying and fraudulence due to the widespread influence they exert upon people, while others believe that there are more reputable advantages gained through these platforms which are very informative. However, I believe that the pros of social media far outweigh the cons. In this essay, I will elucidate both perspectives and elaborate on why social media is so important in every aspect of our lives. It is irrefutable that the television, radio and internet propagate various news and programs which can have major implications in shaping the way we think or behave. Movies especially which are addictive in a way can negatively affect the actions of growing teenagers and children especially when they portray criminals as heroes or when a felon gets away easily with his activities despite the continuous conning and bullying of others. For example, in the movie " The Tinder Swindler" and "The Puppet Master", women were persistently bullied and cheated and the villain often gets away with his actions until the very last moment which is usually several years until justice had been done. Nevertheless, in the current era of globalisation, we cannot ignore the fundamental values of social media in educating people and communicating. For example, society does not need to perform tedious tasks such as travelling or posting letters anymore due to the benefit of the internet. On the other hand, working at home and homeschooling also become possible. Secondly, advertising becomes far more convenient and the public can perform online shopping easily which saves both time and money. In conclusion, although social media can mend people in a negative way according to the nature of the content it displays, we cannot ignore their potential in developing human minds towards a more progressive and empowering direction as well as their important roles in our lives today.