Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of house hold energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy ?

In recent times, nations around the world have resolved to the use of solar power to a progressively increasingly extent as a source of household energy.The solar system is renewable energy that is inexhaustible and obtained from the electromagnetic radiation from the sun. It generates electricity and heat in a manner that is entirely sustainable and free. I think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages, reasons will be discussed herein. On the one hand, one of the most significant benefits that solar power will present right away is a lower utility bill. That is Because your energy needs are being met by your new solar system, energy bills will drop significantly. In addition,solar energy is a clean and renewable source. Solar panels are of course powered by the sunlight, so as you’re powering your home, you greatly reduce the emissions that will serve as a potential threat to the environment. Additionally, solar intensity is not generally associated with pollution, so carbon emissions are lessened. For example, the research conducted on 200 houses by the National Bureau of Statistics in January 2022 showed that Utility bills dipped by 30%. This depicts that the merits of using solar power outweighs its disbenefits. On the other hand, apart from the fact that solar system is usually not cost-friendly when installed for the first time, another prominent disadvantage is environmental pollution; the substance contained in the panel is called Cadmium and it is carcinogenic. This substance can pose serious environmental damage when exposed. To illustrate, in June 2021,there was an outbreak of cholera in zamfara state;research conducted proved that there were tiny cadmium elements found in the water the individuals affected consumed. When disposing of damaged panels, it should be done with utmost care. In conclusion, nations around the world that have resolved to the use of solar energy as a source of household energy should not totally ignore the disbenefits while enjoying the benefits.