Some people say that we must send our parents to old age home when they reach 60. However other think that they must be taken care at home. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As medical technology quickly advances, humans are able to enjoy a longer lifespan. In general, taking care of our old parents should be our priority, but some say that sending our parents to an old age home is better for them. This essay will discuss both views, and I personally think that old parents should be taken care of at home. The argument that we should take care of our own parents is being put forth by some is because as we grow, we should be able to serve them back. With our parents at home, we will be able to monitor and address their needs, which in return will make them happy and feel cared for. Additionally, in their golden years, they would want to be able to play with their grandchildren to fill their time. Therefore, taking care of our parents at home has several advantages over the old age home. On the other hand, the supporters of old age homes say that it is better to send their parents because this will allow their parents to receive professional care from qualified nurses. Furthermore, there are a lot of activities provided for the parents to stay active and to socialise. Although there is a limitation on visitors, grandchildren will still be able to visit them during the weekends. Thus, sending our parents to a caretakers home confers the best of both worlds. To summarise, although it seems that sending our old parents to old age home has more benefits, I personally feel that old parents should be with their families. The sacrifice and contribution of our parents are beyond what we can repay, and if we are capable, both in terms of time and finances, we should take care of our own parents when they reach 60 years and older.