Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Governments usually set a standard retirement age for the working population of the nation regardless of the professional background of an individual. Some argue that this is a fair measure, while others counter-argue that certain employees are at a disadvantage due to this approach. This essay will elaborate as to why this appeal is unfair, and focus on occupations that deserve an early retirement. Adhering to a standard retirement age negatively affects one’s personal desires, it reduces the flexibility and the ability to decide on future plans. For instance, those who prefer to take early retirement to spend more time with their families are held back due to these regulations. Moreover, withdrawal from work is correlated with a person’s mental and physical fitness levels to serve an employer, thus, it is a fundamental human right to be free to choose when to bid farewell to his or her career depending on the circumstances. Moving on to the occupations that explicitly require an early retirement age, are those which involve a high level of mental and physical pressure. Whereas, workers in the field of construction, mining, carpentry, or even athletes for that matter, are often prone to take a break from their work-life at a much earlier stage, compared to professions such as teachers or administrative staff. In conclusion, in my opinion, retirement age is integrated with an individual’s professional and personal conditions, and therefore, cannot be generalized with a fixed age limit, hence, government and related authorities should be considerate, while taking into account various other aspects, such as working environments and physical involvement of different workers while taking such crucial economic decisions.