Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Nowadays, residents tend to consume food and beverage products that contain high levels of sugar. However, this behaviour results in many health troubles of people. Therefore, some people believe that sugary products should be made at a higher price to help them eat less sugar. In the following paragraphs, the reasons why I disagree with this issue will be discussed. To begin with, making sugary products more expensive could be better for residents ’ health. In other words, when the authorities raise the price of sugary products, people will change their behaviour of consuming food and drink. To illustrate, recent research on food behaviour in one country found that the statistic of eating sugary products is decreasing due to the higher price, compared to the past. Consequently, this solution will encourage some people to avoid eating unhealthy food. On the other hand, I strongly disagree with this idea because this solution is not the only way, affecting most residents to eat less sugary goods. First of all, citizens with high income can also buy food at a higher price because they are affordable. Moreover, there are other ways to solve this problem with the collaboration of governments. For instance, the authorities can raise awareness of consuming unhealthy food by providing information on the disadvantages of this behaviour. Furthermore, encouraging residents to do more exercise will be better than raising the price of sugary products. In conclusion, even though there are some advantages of making sugary products more expensive to help people consume less sugar, I believe that there are other ways to solve this problem by raising awareness of eating unhealthy food and encouraging residents to do more exercise.