Some people say that all popular TV programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether informing the audience about social problems ought to be the purpose of the most renowned TV programmes or not. I totally agree with this opinion due to a vast range of reasons and some of them will be addressed in this essay. The main reason why I believe that noticing the public about the community's issues should be considered by famous programmes is that the TV benefits from the attention of millions of viewers. Therefore, an enormous number of people can be informed about problems extremely fast and easy. This fact leads to changes in the populace's behaviours in order to improve some negative traits or strength other positive manners. For example, a recent study in Iran indicates that more than 60 per cent of the residents believe that TV programmes are trustworthy and they do accept their recommendations. Another reason why I strongly advocate this notion is based on the fact that TV plays a pivotal role in preventing crimes. Nowadays, Television has a substantial influence on individuals' thinking, consequently, we ought to take advantage of this capability. If some special programmes associated with avoiding committing crimes were provided, it would be helpful to reduce the rate of criminal actions undoubtedly. For instance, a survey which has been taken in Iran shows that broadcasting a particular programme for one month on TV has been able to increase the public knowledge about a robbery by 60 per cent. In conclusion, although some people think that putting emphasis on some social problems is not one of the goals of Television programmes, I strongly believe that this measurement is literally practical.