Social media such as Facebook, Twitter or Instagram has replaced face-to-face communication in our everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

In this technological era, social media have a greater impact on our daily lives, that is why some people believed that such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram have replaced in-person communication in our daily life. In my opinion, Although there are a few drawbacks of social media platforms, the benefits certainly outweigh them. The primary benefit of social media application is that it saves time and is easily accessible to everyone. In other words, it helps people to connect with like-minded people around the world and share the same feelings and thought which used to do in face-to-face meetings. Moreover, many celebrities and politicians address the nation on Twitter and deliver a message which is easily reached to the masses and people follow them on these platforms and share their thoughts. In contrast, despite having benefits there are some drawbacks of virtual communication. Due to the increasing usage of mobile applications, people become addicted to them and waste their time surfing around and getting unnecessary updates. In particular, the young generation screentime is a lot on websites such as Instagram, Facebook. This time could be utilized for productive activities. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that while social media applications have some drawbacks, i belive that advantages are far more.