In the future, all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Technological advances are leading towards all vehicles becoming automated and not having a driver. I believe the merits of this far exceed the drawbacks. The main benefit of this phenomenon is the increase in safety. The absence of a driver means that human error can be totally eliminated. More precisely, car accidents will no longer result from a lapse of concentration or poor judgment in the operation of a vehicle. For example, there will no longer be an issue with intoxicated drivers getting behind the wheel and endangering themselves and others on the road. In addition, it will be more enjoyable for all occupants of a vehicle as no one will have to perform driving duties. People who would have been drivers can now relax during a journey. For instance, they will be able to watch movies or interact with their friends on social media while travelling. Furthermore, the stress of a long drive can be avoided, meaning that they can arrive at the destination in a more relaxed state. However, there are likely to be cyber-criminals who will attempt to take advantage of this situation. Hackers may seize control of these vehicles and use them for their own nefarious purposes. For example, a hacker could use an automated vehicle as a getaway vehicle or block traffic in order to evade the police. Even worse, they could hack into police vehicles rendering them useless in a chase. In conclusion, I believe that the positives of this phenomenon greatly outweigh the negatives. This is because the increase in safety and enjoyment when travelling surpass the threat posed by cyber-criminals. Therefore, this new technology should be embraced. Technological advances are leading towards all vehicles becoming automated and not having a driver. I believe the merits of this far exceed the drawbacks. The main benefit of this phenomenon is the increase in safety. The absence of a driver means that human error can be totally eliminated. More precisely, car accidents will no longer result from a lapse of concentration or poor judgment in the operation of an automobile. For example, there will no longer be an issue with intoxicated drivers getting behind the wheel and endangering themselves and others on the road. In addition, it will be more enjoyable for all occupants of an automobile as no one will have to perform driving duties. People who would have been drivers can now relax during a journey. For instance, they will be able to watch movies or interact with their friends on social media while travelling. Furthermore, the stress of a long drive can be avoided, meaning that they can arrive at the destination in a more relaxed state. However, there are likely to be cyber-criminals who will attempt to take advantage of this situation. Hackers may seize control of these vehicles and use them for their own nefarious purposes. For example, a hacker could use an automated car as a getaway vehicle or block traffic in order to evade the police. Even worse, they could hack into police cars rendering them useless in a chase. In conclusion, I believe that the positives of this phenomenon greatly outweigh the negatives. This is because the increase in safety and enjoyment when travelling surpass the threat posed by cyber-criminals. Therefore, this new technology should be embraced.