Some government spend a lot of public fund on training people to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public. To what extent do you agree?

Firstly, to be frank, this statement is always a problem in my country, when the government in my country spend the state budget to build a new sports facility. There are must be pros and contras here and there. As I studied Public Sector Economy course in my undergraduate study, I can say that spending state budget to support any sports events rather than spending money on general public need is not breaking any rules. However, the government in my country is infamous for its corrupt behaviour. This is what make citizens in my country contra to the sports supporting fund. There is much evidence of their corruption act. To show that, many athletes and former athletes in my country speak their minds on how they feel injustice and inadequate. Even in public, the government say that they can give their all to support athletes in an international competition, but in reality, the athletes still do not feel it, even the existing facilities are lacking. They suspect there is fraud in the middle of the bureaucracy. It is also not a new topic. Every time, my country's government try to build new international standard sports facilities for a competition, undoubtedly, this corruption behaviour always emerges to surface. The newest one is Mandalika circuit problems for the MotoGP race. I believe, the people who are contras of government choice to spend their fund on supporting sport is doubtful to their government because of the infamous reputation of their government, likewise in my country. Overall, supporting sport means supporting the athletes and the athletes is part of the public too. Hence, it means spending a lot of public funds on training people to be successful in international sporting events will also benefit the general public.