Happiness is often considered difficult to define. Why is this?What factors determine happiness.

It is often claimed that happiness is an abstruse thing to discuss. There are several reasons which account for the difficulty of defining happiness. Although it is hard to define due to various views and society values, some factors can measure the sense of fulfilment of individuals both internal and external. To begin with, there is no exact definition of happiness according to a personal point of view. It means the standard for achieving the condition of success is different among people. This is because, some individuals will feel successful if their basic needs, namely food, health care, and education, are fulfilled, while others believe that they are in a successful state if they have a lot of money. For example, Bhutan’s people are considered to be the happiest society around the world, whereas among them only a few of them can be categorized as wealthy. Secondly, different individuals have diverse meanings of rejoicing their surrounding environment. For instance, a person will be ecstatic and energetic if he or she is surrounded by a positive situation. While few individuals will feel discomfort and unhappy because they cannot accept supportive surroundings. However, it is possible to mention two circumstances to decide the happiness of a person. First of all, internal factors that shape our characters, namely behaviour and integrity, influence people's standard of joy. For example, a sociopath will be happy and enjoy it if they see other people in trouble, even though it might seem negative to others. Another factor is the external one, such as relationship quality with others, which will decide individuals ’ satisfaction. It is undeniable fact that happiness can come in a form of stability in relationships with the surrounding. In conclusion, happiness is hard to define because everyone has their own standard and is surrounded by different surroundings. Internal and external factors of some entities affect their contentment state.