Some people believe it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or valuable to share freely. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The right to access information belongs to everyone. Nowadays, people are divided in their opinion regarding free access to business, academic and science-related information. In my opinion, access to similar information should not be free as there is a need to protect both the intellectual and material rights of its original owners. On the one hand, free access to information will help experts build on existing knowledge and resources to cure people from life-saving diseases. Other businesses could use existing business insights to optimize their services and products. Moreover, many underdeveloped countries lack funding to invest in critical sectors such as healthcare, energy and industrial development. For instance, with free access to medical research, doctors in African countries can apply cutting-edge research to cure infectious diseases like malaria that kill millions of people every year. On the other hand, similar research is not easy to come up with. Firstly, many scientists and researchers work under abnormal conditions and others suffer from piracy and unauthorized access to their work. Secondly, people working in research and development devote their lives to coming up with new ideas and developing accumulated knowledge whereas many struggles to attract interested donors and funding organizations. For example, a medical researcher could spend years applying for government grants to publish his academic papers or get media coverage for his work. Finally, those researchers need to continue their work and stay focused and motivated. In conclusion, without the protection of ideas, businesses and individuals would not reap the benefits of their work and would focus less on research and development. However, further international cooperation is required to support critical sectors and safe lives in underserved communities.