In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative developments

In this recent world, there is an increased number of people who choose to live alone than in the past. In my,opinion this is a negative development. First, living alone literally means that the person is out of society. Such a person can be selfish or an anti-social personality type. Yes, we do respect everyone's privacy but we still need each other. In fact, animals need each other further humans. When individuals get sick for instance, can they handle it by themselves? Of course not, right? We need other people to help us. If we live alone nobody would be aware of us. For example, there was a reported case in the newspaper, people died in their apartment without anyone noticing it. This is the worse consequence if we choose to spend our lives alone. On the contrary, being part of the community gives us a lot of benefits. Let's say, we go to an outstation, the society members can look after our house and lodge a police report if required. They willingly do it for us. In return, we will do the same thing to them. Further, when our car broken-down we freely can contact our neighbour and get their help. They do it for free. In this matter, you still can settle it on your own of course, you can call the grab car to fetch you up but all in return will cost you a penny. Not for free. The value of helping each other without any reward is not applicable here. In conclusion, living alone has many disadvantages compared with the other. Being part of the public teaches us to value. In fact, we still can have our private life even though we look after the neighbourhood.