Nowadays football supporters behave violently. what is the cause? How can we solve it?

Football hooliganism is not a new phenomenon. lt dates back to 14h century England, when this sport was banned by the king of that time. ln the modern form of football, such violence has also been reported many times. This essay intends to analyse the causes of this phenomenon, and suggest ways to mitigate the problem. The main reason of violence by football supporters is that football is a competitive, physical sport, which is played by and attracts an audience, which is youthful and aggressive. The supporters of the teams form gangs, and these gangs want to assert themselves over their rivals. They have strong emotional ties with their teams. The Heysel stadium disaster is an example of such hooliganism, in which Liverpool supporters and Juventis Juventus supporters had a fight, because of which a wall collapsed and there were 39 casualties. Secondly, the influence of alcohol is there on football violence. There were clear evidences that most of those involved in football hooliganism were drunk. Finally, the media is also considered a culprit in contributing to football violence. Studies have suggested that the language of war and combat employed by the media in covering football, incited the young supporters to indulge in violence. For instance, the Daily Mirror's headlines '? chtung! surrender" before the match between England and Germany in 199G, was very provocative for the young supporters. Many solutions have been proposed and tried, which has resulted in a significant decrease in football hooliganism. Such measures should be implemented more stringently to completely eradicate the menace of football violence. First of all, sophisticated policing measures should be employed. Spotting and barring the hooligans to attend further matches would be very helpful. Alcohol consumption during the matches should be banned. Finally, the media should be wise enough to play its role in such a way that it does not give air to hooliganism. To sum up, football violence is a problem, but many effective steps can be taken to address the issue and prevent further mishaps.