Do you think it is better for governments to spend money developing public transportation or developing new kinds of cars? Why or why not? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

To begin with, it is better for governments to spend money developing public transportation rather developing new kinds of cars. This is my opinion. First, air pollution. In Malaysia, one household possesses more than one vehicle. If the majority of the citizens use public transportation, we can save our air significantly. Definitely less emission of carbon dioxide and plumbed into the environment, hence we can inhale cleaner air, subsequently, the occurrence of asthma and allergic rhinitis cases will be reduced. Further, certain public vehicles such as electrical commuters use green technology. Second, geographical factor. Not all places can be accessed by using cars. For example, citizens living on an island, of course, need an aeroplane or ferry to get to the mainland. See our neighbour country Indonesia. Their country composes of multiple islands namely, Java, Sumatera, Kalimantan, Sulawesi and many more islands. Building up bridges connecting those islands are very costly and not economical compared with developing good public transportation. Third, job opportunities. The public transportation sector has opened doors for many workers. Ranging from the labours up to the engineers. This win-win situation is a good example of the connection between government and citizens. Public transportation can also be part of a tourism attraction. Have you ever heard about see sighting experience using a train? This in return can boost up the country's economy. Forth is, the safety factor. Percentage of accidents involving cars and motorcycles are higher in contrary to public transport. This data is supported by the Malaysian Transportation Ministry. To conclude, the government should spend more on upgrading and improvising the public transportation system because it is crucial and safe.