Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is claimed that change is the permanent constant and that time waits for none. We are required to pace ourselves with the changing circumstances and I am in complete support of this stance. There has been much discussion revolving around the issue whether to stick to a monotonous routine for a lifetime or add some zing to it and keep experimenting. In this essay I will be exploring both the viewpoints and express my opinion for the one I am in favour of which is to acquire and mould oneself according to the requirements of the situation. In the previous era, where even the notion of face timing sounded like magic, following a routine was a mark of stability. It takes discipline and will-power to stick to one job and be the best at it. And that for sure, in the period when there were no technological advancements seemed the right thing to abide to. For instance, the route of securing good scores and then getting admission to pursue certain careers. To more specific doctor, engineer, professor, banker was like a norm in India. More importantly, getting married after engaging in a honourable position was a religion in itself. It was a conservative mindset and quite favourable to that background. However, in the present-day society, resorting to an ideology like this might keep one left behind. There are a variety of choices at ones’ plate, baffling to say the least. And in these scenarios, getting accustomed to one ’s routine sounds like being ignorant. Alongside, the world is your stage and hesitating due to the fear of uncertainty will leave no scope for improvement. All kinds of professions can be explored, in fact one can delve in other opportunities through internships, online training programs while sticking to a current job. Everything is just one click away and so being insulated from the change is going to benefit none. Not only will this fetch multiple sources of income but also life satisfaction. For example, one can be a software developer and side by side can look after their interest in stock market. In summary, I concede that everyone is entitled to select whatever feels comfortable nevertheless I believe that leading a better standard of life should be the ultimate goal. And in the realms of possibilities presented to us now a days one should perform and endeavour to the best of their abilities. (391 words)