Some people think that sports play an important role in society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have divided opinions on sporting games, some opined that sports are just an activity for relaxation and leisure. While others contend that sports can not be defined in this way.In my point of view, however, it can bring a variety of benefits, including psychological and physiological health. Some people consider that playing sports is just required for free time. For example, some co-workers will go play some sports after work or on the holidays, it not only provides them with the chance to meet new friends but mingles with their boss which may give them the opportunity to be promoted. Moreover, they belittle the significance of sports since it is nothing more than a leisure activity in their eyes. It is undeniable that playing sports is beneficial to both mental and physical health as well as the fitness of a community. Doing sports help us speed up metabolism, also prevent us from getting heart disease. Numerous studies have consistently found that regular exercise correlated to an over 50 per cent reduction in the coronary events. On top of that, people from different regions regardless of perspectives, genders as well as races united together to celebrate a win for their home country. For example, during the international tournament, FIFA world cup, people of all ethnicities and races busk in the reflected glory and feel proud vicariously. In conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that sports serve as a means of uniting people of different perspectives together and igniting patriotism in the population, it is not just as superficial as a recreational purpose.