Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement??

Art, music, and theatre play an important role in enriching our culture all over the world. While it is essential to increase funds for public services like healthcare and education, the funds dedicated to arts should not be cut down. I disagree with the statement and will provide further details to substantiate my disagreement in the course of the essay. To commence with, it is undeniable that the government should allocate more budget towards public services as it contributes towards the development of our country. Utilising the national budget in building more educational institutions along with providing better medical facilities in rural areas. This will enhance the quality of life of our citizens. For instance, the government has started providing scholarships for financially challenged students to pursue their higher education. However, equal importance should be given to the arts and culture of our society. If we fail to protect our art, music and theatre in the country, we will lose uniqueness, resulting in the loss of national identity. The expenses should be provided to preserve our culture and traditions as these aspects drive tourism. If these are not emphasised, we might face economic impact. If museums, for example, are not maintained properly or the folk music is not supported by our local authorities, we might face economic impact as we may lose tourists. In conclusion, after a thorough analysis of the topic, I believe that although it might seem fair for the authorities to spend more of their funds on public services, it would be unfair and might have negative impacts on our economics to neglect the importance of our culture and tradition