Some people believe educational qualifications always bring success. Others think educational qualifications do not necessarily bring success. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

It is obvious that education can be beneficial for human beings and societies generally, yet, it is a matter of controversy when it comes to personal success in life. People’s opinions differ as to whether educational achievements would definitely result in a successful life or not. I personally advocate the group who believe that this would not cause a successful life essentially. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give reasons why I opt for the second perspective. On the one hand, there are plenty of reasons why some people opine that education might guarantee a successful life. First, the right career path is undoubtedly one of the most essential indicators of a successful life since it brings with itself prosperity and higher standards of living. For instance, in the current competitive job market, less-literate people are less likely to find high-paid and high-status jobs. Second, at university, while passing courses, they share ideas, exchange data, read about eminent names in their fields which brings about a wider perspective and a clear roadmap. However, I am of the opinion that completing educational degrees would not necessarily lead humans to a successful life. It is true that a suitable educational background can steer individuals to lead a successful life, yet many decide on either an area that they are not talented in or there are not sufficient relevant job opportunities, which means all years of studying would be in vain. Furthermore, there are thousands of examples of famous successful and wealthy people who do not have a higher education degree or even dropped out of their universities such as Bill Gates and Steve Jobs who were among the most successful in the world. To summarize, although educational achievements would bring about a variety of merits for humans, they do not specifically assure them of a definite successful life. Citizens should consider other skills and requirements of being successful equally with education.