Some feel that it is a waste of time to plan for the future and it is more important to focus on the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As an introduction, I partially disagree with the statement that, it is a waste of time to plan for the future rather more essential to focus on the present. First, a good government's governance should include short term and long term plans for the country. Both plans must be well-balanced because no future without the past and present. "The Rome was not built over one night". This proverb is really true indeed. For example, pollution. The air, sea and forest pollution, if are not being tackled now will lead to total destruction. It is not safe anymore to live in a megacity when the air gets polluted badly. This situation endangers our life instead. Second, the future developments of a city's infrastructure start from the present planning. For instance, developing a road highway and public transportation. To illustrate, projection researches need to be carried out now so that in years to come, our highways and public transportations can meet the upcoming population's growth. Third, anticipating disaster. The fundamental step in facing a disaster is current preparation. Always get ready with all sorts of simulations. To illustrate, we can see how Japanese people handle the earthquake on their island. Rather a proactive right? Forth, is the language. In history, certain languages such as Bahasa Melayu used to be a "Lingua Franca" however, it is replaced by another language nowadays. Efforts need to be done now, in order to place Bahasa Melayu as "Lingua Franca" once more. In conclusion, focusing on the present and future are equally important. No future without planning from the present.