Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little to be done to rectify this. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Information coming out from news outlets could have far reaching impact on the way of life of the public, hence anyone who directly controls a media house will definately determine what goes out. I strongly agree with above view point for two reasons; disseminated information travels fast and wide and secondly, journalist will rather submit to the directives of their employers most time. The lifestyle and behaviour of every society is influenced by the information available to her. News outlets have the responsibility of educating and keeping the people informed. Because information travels wide and fast, it takes just little effort to get many people to accept a piece of message from policy makers. Consequently,whatever the intentions of the originators could have been will influence the behaviour of the society. For example, some years back, major media houses controlled by businessmen and politicians informed the indigens indigenes of Northern Nigeria thet a particular immunization is harmful and so should be avoided. Many people believed it and acted accordingly. This led to the resurgence of wild polio virus in the area. Furthermore,with the high level of unemployment, newsmen will rather remain loyal to their employer in order not to loose their jobs. Moreover, employees can water down a news item just to satisfy the desire of their boss, who are themselves way too influential. Consequently, major happenings may be under reported or tempared tampered with such that the populace is only offered half-truth. As a result, many people will be misinformed and this has a way of shaping people's character. For instance a major drug baron was arrested by the police, but because of his contact with very powerful politicians, he was left off the hook delibrately. Unfortunately, instead of journalist reporting that the police were complicit, they were forced to do otherwise. In conclusion, I believe that the type and content of news fed to the public, would impact on a society's attitude. This is possible because media houses are businesses owned by influential politicians whose main interest is to make profit, as such would censor news items not favourable to them or even fire employees who stand for objective reportage.