Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

Most employees hardly go for routine fitness activities despite having good knowledge of the dangers of living a sedentary life. One of the major reasons advanced by some people is the lack of time due to the pressure of work. This issue can be addressed by employers making policies that will create mandatory time for sports in the workplace. These days, many company staffs are faced with jobs that are stressful and demanding. Their schedule keeps them busy all day round leaving them with no time to attend to personal needs like jogging and running to keep fit. This is made worse by the fact that some people return home from work tired, unable to do any strenous outdoor workout despite having the desire to exercise. For example, four years ago when I was self-employed, I routinely go out for sports in the evenings for health reasons. Unfortunately, things changed when I took up an offer in a commercial bank. I hardly could continue with my evening aerobic outings, because I usually return home from work by seven oclock in the evening. One of the major steps to addressing the issue of lack of time for games by staffers is the introduction of a policy which will make it mandatory for officers to be involve in health enhancing sporting events. This can be done, by rolling out free time for aerobics and reducing the demands of the job. This will encourage the workforce to be involved in exercise in order to enjoy good health. For-instance, one company in my community came up with something similar. The firm hired a fitness coach who trained participants in different exercises. The result was amazing following feedback from the workers. In conclusion, I believe that lack of time for games by the working class could have a negative impact on their health. However, enacting policies to reduce the pressure of work and creating free time for aerobics in the office could address this challenge.