Some people think that air travel should be reduced to protect the environment. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Determining the impact of air travel on environmental damage is an ongoing debate. Some claim that the frequency of air travel should be decreased in order to reduce air pollution. On the other hand, others go to counter arguments by suggesting that the travel method does not pollute the environment more than others. Clearly, I disagree with the idea and a close examination will clearly demonstrate why air travel should be continued. First, travelling by aeroplane is essential for globalised modern society because other methods are overland and ocean route. First of all, overland moving is not available for all countries and it requires too much time to trip with this method. Also, it can not guarantee that the train and car do not cause much pollution compared with other shipments. Furthermore, ocean shipping such as ships is also not attractive as well as air vehicles. For example, a ship trip takes a week to go north America from South Korea. Therefore, it is not eco-friendly because a lot of meals, water, facilities, and fuels are required to transport people and items. Second, air travel does not have a large portion of air pollution. Someone claims that aeroplanes emit too much waste. However, it is not exact information. One research statistic mentioned that methane from cow-breeding is the main reason for carbon emissions. In addition, air trips can not be replaced by other shipment methods such as buses, trains, and ships because the aircraft can transport most people effectively. In other words, it can move people with a small amount of fuel per person. Consequently, it is not valid that the frequency of aeroplane trips should be reduced for improving the environment. To sum up, air travel should not be reduced for two reasons. Firstly, it is necessary because some nations can not use other methods and it is an effective shipment method. Secondly, it is not the main reason for environmental damage.