Nowadays, parents send their children abroad for further education. At what age should they send their children abroad? What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Education is an unending process and requires no specific age limit. But when it is about getting admitted into a foreign institute, a child should be of specific age and I believe it should be at least 18 years. However, there are some advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad as well. I believe 18 is the perfect age for entering into adulthood and people become able to take care of you. They can take decisions by them at this age, while their mental faculty also gets an expansion and learn critical thinking. In a foreign country they will be unable to adjust and the situations may go wrong. So, it is wise to send children for foreign education when they turn 18. Usually students in foreign institutes learn differently and when they will travel abroad, the trip makes them familiar with newer things and by the same time is entertaining as well. The overseas trip also helps to expand their imagination. Secondly, language has great influence on people’s lives and when the kids will be into a new place, they need to learn the local language that also enriches their language skills. In fact, learning a second language helps people in many aspects and particularly bears positive impacts on career selection. Moreover, studying abroad helps learning new cultures, customs, manners and those could be applied in the practical life. Now, come back to the disadvantages. The most important drawback is excessive cost. Due to currency fluctuation, the expenses are never steady. Consequently the tuition fees and living costs are higher than living in the native country. Often the students have to drop out as they cannot bear all the costs. Besides, adjustment with the surrounding is a great issue to consider. To take a real life example, one of my cousins, Samantha, went to USA last year for her study but returned home within a few weeks. She could not cope up with surrounding situations. Age was an important factor – she was 16 then. Thereby, it is imperative to send children in foreign institutes when they are adult enough (at least 18) to take their own care and simultaneously the parents must own the ability to stand against the excessive costs.