in the past, lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students in a classroom. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach in teaching? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

The era is becoming technologically advanced day by day. The use of technical gadgets in schools, workplaces and for entertainment has become prevalent as they are efficient and satisfy the needs of people. Utilizing technology in the classroom is advantageous because it is efficient in terms of time and makes the classrooms interactive. However, the new technology is not a cost-efficient and effective method of teaching. This essay is an attempt to address the advantages and disadvantages of replacing the traditional methods of teaching with new virtual ways of learning. The first and foremost benefit of online classes is that it saves time for commuting. The students can join classes from the comfort of their homes whereas earlier face to face teaching methods involved travelling from and to home. The saved time can be used for revision of class or one can do exercise. Moreover, the online classes are small and students feel comfortable asking the questions in class. In contrast, classroom-based learning was complex for mentees as the size of classes is big where students could not present their views. Therefore, having more time which is saved from travelling and small classes can get grades for students. In contrast, new technology needs to be implemented into a place before use, thus it is not a cost-effective method. Students need to have a laptop and access to the internet which is expensive. Some learners are from backward areas where they do not have gizmos to work and study. Moreover, they cannot afford to buy a new laptop which disrupts their study. For instance, as soon as covid hit, the classrooms turned online, many students dropped out because they did not have access to technology. In conclusion, technology is a boon for some, while it is a bane for others. There are advantages of converting the traditional teachings to the new and updated methods as it is time -efficient. Meanwhile, the negatives for poor people who cannot access the gadgets cannot be overlooked.