Many people think that school uniforms should be banned. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing school uniforms?

School uniforms have been a part of students ' attire for many years now, but nowadays, people think they should get banned. Although there are numerous advantages of wearing it, such as bringing discipline and a sense of equality among the students, but there are certain disadvantages that need to be considered. On the one hand, there are various advantages of following a particular dress code. Firstly, uniforms bring discipline among students; since schools teach pupils to keep their dress neat and clean, this educates them about personality development. For example, a study reveals that students of schools following a particular dress code are generally very confident and socially active. Secondly, it generates a sense of equality among students. It signals to their impressionable minds that even if you are rich or poor, intelligent or weak in academics, everyone has to wear it; this can make a student humble and down to earth. For example, a study reveals that institutions with mandatory dress code nurture students who follow the rules and treat everyone equally. On the other hand, there are numerous drawbacks of wearing the same. First and foremost, maintaining it can be challenging; if it gets dirty or got some stains, it can become tough to remove it, and sometimes they may have to buy a new one. For instance, a survey shows that kids and parents in Asia hate the concept of uniforms due to the high time and effort utilized in maintaining them. Secondly, the high cost of these uniforms proves to be a burden on parents. Local manufacturers take unfair advantage of their monopoly and artificially raise their prices, which can create a big hole in parents ' pockets. For instance, a report shows that most parents in tier 2 cities cannot afford uniforms for their offspring due to their high cost. To conclude, difficulty in maintaining uniforms and artificial increment in its prices by local manufacturers are the main disadvantages of a uniform. So it should get banned.