The amount of drinkable water for people is decreasing. Why is this? What can be done?

The lack of enough drinkable water has become one of the most serious issues of our society and it eventually might even lead to a global drought. Various reasons have led to this situation, but, fortunately there are some measures we can take to ameliorate this issue. As it comes to the reasons why this is happening, perhaps one of the main ones is industrial waste. Over the years, people have dumped their waste into the rivers, canals etc. rather than throwing it inappropriate garbage, thus polluting the freshwater. For instance, many rivers providing fresh water have become so much polluted that they can no longer be useful for drinking, causing drinkable water to decrease. The other reason is climate change and global warming. Many water sources are decreasing naturally because of changes in the temperature, leading to a situation where only a little amount of water might be available for humans and animals in the near future. Despite the causes, there are several solutions that we can do, in order to save water and prevent future disasters. One of the first things that we can do is inform and educate the population about the importance of water and the possible outcomes of them polluting natural sources such as rivers etc. For example, educating children in school, can be a wise start, because the root of our future depends on the new generation. The government of developing or developed countries should also put a penalty against those companies or industry units that pollute sanitary water. Other measures that we can take is to stop illegal hunting, logging or using too many plastic products so that we can try to stop the progression of climate change, which is a major factor in the decreasing drinkable water. In conclusion, although freshwater is decreasing because of climate change and humans invading and polluting freshwater sources, there still are solutions such as better education, restricting laws and regulations to prevent further catastrophes.