Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Online shopping has become part of our lifestyle. In these past couple of years, we have seen enormous growth from companies with a focus on online shopping such as Amazon and Alibaba. The ongoing pandemic with mobility restriction also amplifies the trend shift from brick and mortar to online shopping. There are pros and cons to the rising of online shopping, just like other disruptions in any other sector in history. The pros for customers is the convenience of shopping. Online shopping offers access to a range of options within the customer's hand. After the goods have been purchased, they will be directly delivered to their home. On the other hand, the seller also gains equal access to a wide range of customers and lower cost of setting up business. Sellers do not need to worry about the store location to reach out the specific customer. It also comes with some disadvantages. Ease of online shopping causes potential overspending that might not happen otherwise. It also worth noting that customers become highly dependent on their phones, causing various well-being concerns. There are various survey showing the rise in screen time causes higher depression and anxiety. On the sellers side, we are seeing the increase in pressure to provide competitive prices to attract more customers. Sellers may be tempted to reduce cost of production by choosing lower quality product that can cause various health risk to the customer. In the end, every innovation comes with various benefits and risks. The disaadvantage of online shopping must not become the reason for us to reject the innovative ways of living. We need to embrace the benefit of ithe innovation while keep ing our eyes open to the potential risks that it might bring.