The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are, on the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialize. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Although online platforms such as emails and websites have enhanced communication between persons, it has also limited physical interactions amongst people leading to loneliness. This essay will argue in support of the statement by observing that the internet has made social interaction easier and simpler. However, it has also reduced the contact time between humans by making people to spend more time surfing the web. On the one hand, people have been known to link-up with each other using different websites. Through email addresses, letters and relevant information are often transmitted across the globe from the comfort of our homes to people we never had seen. Consequently, by these means people make mutual friends with others in faraway country even when they have never seen each other. For example, two years ago I had the need for some information to help me carry out research. By searching the web, I came across an article of interest and I noted the author’s email address. When I contacted him, he assisted me so much so that we remained friends till this day. On the other hand, many people have become addicted to visiting websites. They spend a lot of hours browsing the net to the extent that they have no time left for socials. This attitude ultimately cuts them off from friends and family and eventually cause them loneliness. For example, a friend of mine had depression last month and on investigation, I discovered that he has been staying awake all night long for about one week surfing the different sites of interest. He lost contact with some of his friends, became lonely and finally low mood. In conclusion, I agree that the world wide web remains a vital tool for communication and hooking up people and that the downside of separating friends due to longer screen time could lead loneliness.