Some people think that new technology always improve the lives of workers. Other people believe that it results in disadvantages for workers. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

The pros and cons of technology has been a popular topic of discussion since the rise of the Internet. But to me, I believe that the adoption of technology carries far greater advantages than disadvantages. One prominent argument for the use of technology is the increase in the efficiency and productivity of the workers. Today, workers are spoilt for choices with the large array of productivity apps available. Such apps includes tasks/calendar apps to track schedules and deadlines, Zoom and Teams Meet to conduct meetings over the internet, and powerful search engines like Google to supplement and empower workers with ready knowledge. Such is the power of technology where it unlocks the potential and time of the worker to focus on things that are more important. Technology poses a threat for the workers as it threatens to replace their usefulness. It is common discussion about which jobs will be replaced by AI and technology and the consensus is the repetitive and labourous work like cashier, manufacturing lines, and even customer service can be be replaced. Technology threatens the livelihood of such workers. Automated cashiering machines are already widely adopted and utilized, especially in large supermarkets with the prevalence of self-checkout stations. Thus, from this perspective, it is disadvantageous for the worker. However, advancement in technology has also created a huge demand and the rise of other jobs such as software engineers, cyber security, and data analytics. Yes, technology has replaced and will continue to replace certain jobs, but it has also introduced demand and the creation of new jobs to continue this technological advancements. In conclusion, I believe that technology serves to improve the lives of the worker. But I do acknowledge that there are groups of workers who are negatively impacted by this inadvent advent in advent adoption of technology. The wide adoption of technology today speaks volume with regards to its advantages and disadvantages for the workers.