Today, some food travels thousands of miles from farms to consumers. Some people think that it would be better to our environment and economy if people only eat locally produced food. To what extent do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Undoubtedly, with the rapid development of agriculture in our society, local economies and environmental sustainability have become increasingly significant. While some people see locally produced food as vital, others argue that it may have some disadvantages. I am in favour of the latter, and the reasons will be elaborated on as follows. An array of causes may explain why eating locally produced food can have several benefits. To begin with, it is eco-friendly. This is to say, avoiding long-distance transportation can greatly reduce air pollution. This potentially involves all buyers contributing to environmental protection. Moreover, buying food from local groceries not only creates new jobs but also helps boost the economic growth of their country. For example, based on a study conducted by National Taiwan University from 2020 to 2024, the unemployment rate gradually decreased due to the establishment of local farmers' markets. On the other hand, it is undeniable that some types of food can only grow in specific environments, particularly fruits and various species. That is, if individuals are restricted to local products, they may not be able to enjoy a variety of foods. For instance, take Taiwan as an example. Taiwan, as a tropical country, cannot grow cherries. Many people did not know about cherries until they were first imported from the United States in 1987. Even though cherries are a relatively expensive product, people are still willing to buy them. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned reasons, while locally produced food can bring positive impacts to the economy and the environment, imported food still offers significant advantages to society.