In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

With the growing levels of education and awareness among the population, individuals have started adopting healthy living habits. As a result, most countries have banned smoking indoors or in public places. I completely agree with this idea, as I believe that smoking is extremely injurious to the health of the individual and to the society in general. Smoking in public areas can severely impact the health of the residents, especially the individuals who have pre-existing medical issues, such as asthma. Additionally, the same can result in passive smoking amongst the individuals within the vicinity, resulting in worsened health conditions and long term issues. For example, as per a research conducted by Cambridge University, 40% of passive smokers have experienced at least one lung disease once they cross the 40 year age mark. In addition to this, public places are most likely to be occupied by the youth of the country. This implies that if smoking is encouraged publicly, there are chances that the young generation would also grow to accept this lifestyle, as the same has been normalized in the society. For instance, according to an article in Times magazine, 35% of the people who smoke have witnessed one of their parents being a chain smoker while growing up. To conclude, the government of the country should actively take measures to protect the wellbeing of the society. Additionally, parents should also be aware of the impact their smoking habits have on their children, to make the environment a better place to live.