You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. More and more people are buying food that is ready to eat rather than choosing to eat home-cooked food. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

To start, sharing meal time has always been paramount to maintaining the family united. While ready to eat meals are becoming more popular amongst the population, there are the ones who defend that cooking at home is a moment of sharing and happiness. Despite understanding the reasons why some people prefer to eat pre-prepared food, I believe that there are several benefits of home -cooked dishes, such as being nutritionally richer and healthier. Taking the first point of view into consideration, it is undoubted that the number of people who opts to go to the supermarket and buy food which is already prepared is increasing. what is more, it can be justified by the convenience of those services, which are available in almost every place, at any time, by an affordable amount of money. The fact is, for example, in current days, employees tend to work overtime which means less time available to think about cooking or even go shopping. Altogether, it seems totally fair that these people prefer to arrive at their dwellings and seat on the sofa, relaxing or resting, instead of having to think about which kind of meal they are going to prepare or even spend time with that activity. On the other hand, there are others who feel the contrary. For many families, the time spent while cooking and eating is a moment of sharing concerns, emotions and the news of the day. While a family sits together eating a homemade meal, for instance, they might feel that that moment is special and bonds are strengthened between couples and their children. A further interesting point is that cooking at home may be the only path to make the family customs, regarding cuisine, passing into other generations. What is more, a person cannot question the fact that cooking at home has more health benefits, since the ingredients are natural and there are fewer preservatives used on food, which may be detrimental for our health. Furthermore, its nutritional richness is a positive point. Who is cooking is responsible for mixing the ingredients and choosing the correct proportions to create a balanced nutritional meal. In conclusion and taking the aforementioned points together, I believe that the positive aspects of cooking at home clearly outweigh the disadvantages. In spite of eating packaged meals might be beneficial for those who work more hours and have a lack of free time, it is obvious that cooking a homemade dish is more pleasant, as well as nutritionally healthier.