Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, food items are moved over long distances from the manufacturers to the intended customers. Certain people opin that it is satisfactory for the economy and environment if the masses only consume local food products. Personally, I strongly concur with that notion because the foods produced within the country are often fresh for one to eat. First and foremost, the international market offers a variety of food types for people to buy,unlike the local markets. To put this in perspective, rather than depending on the same farm products year in year out, accessing foods from the global market not only offers a variety of choices but also different types of delicacies. For example, it is only the food items from foreign lands that can enable local people to discover newer types of foods and derive health benefits from them. This in itself is what moves people to opt for such foreign products as opposed to the local products from farmers. Nevertheless, I still believe this route offers more grave consequences than not. On one hand, the major setback of consuming foods from the international market is that one risks being fed expired food items. For instance, the Zambian government discovered a plot by a faraway company that sold expired foodstuffs which could have resulted in the occurrence of diseases and death. In other words, it is because these food items are made to move over long distances that they go bad by the time they are reaching their destination. This is something a nation can never experience if and when they only depend on the locally produced foods from local farmers. Because,unlike the imported foods, local products are ready to eat within the same day of production hence reducing the risk of health problems. By way of conclusion, I strongly concur with the sentiment that local products are better than those imported because unlike the latter,they are always readily available for use within a short period. Going forward, governments should restrict the number of foods allowed in a country in order to curb the problem of consuming expired products.