Write about the following topic. To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

There is a growing argument among people, whether new food sources like insects should be used or not since it has positive and negative effects like affordability and reduced crops respectively. In the following essay, this writer would like to elaborate more on this matter. To begin with, when we consider insects, most of them are not nutrients and most importantly not palatable for humans as they were not recognized as food for a long time. At the same time, the pollination of crops which are the main food sources of mankind mainly depends on the bees, one of the insects. Furthermore, without pollination worldwide crops will be less leading most of the communities around the world to hunger. for example, according to the study done by Oxford University, 95% of the pollination of major croup around the world will depend on the activity of bees and if the bee population is reduced, it will negatively affect the croup. When we consider the positive side of bugs as food,most importantly it is a widely available and easily cachable species. As a result, humans may be able to fulfil their energy requirements without wasting much time and money. At the same time, with the development of biotechnology and genetic engineering, these species can be changed to a more nutrient and more palatable food. For instance, according to research published by Indian scientists, they have developed a genetically changed bumblebee, in which nutrient composition is similar to an egg. In conclusion, people around the globe seeking new food origin like insects to compensate for the rising requirements. Although it has positive effects like being more approachable compared to other food sources, insects as food may give rise to negative effects like a shortage of crops. Hence, this writer wishes to suggest that the authorities should do further research on this field before taking a final decision.