To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

The discourse regarding insects becoming alternative foods is a debatable topic these days because many individuals state that it does not have healthy components, while others deny it. It happens since insects can be traditional medicines and generate stamina for them. On the other hand, most insects provide poisons and less nutritions. This essay will explain both arguments through some examples. To begin with, numerous people assume that consuming insects are able to raise people's stamina so that they can be healthier and stronger. One clear example is that many Sumatrans eat bamboo caterpillars to support their daily activities as workers. At the same time, some old citizens also argue that it is the best traditional medicine since a huge number of people recover from their illness due to insects. It happens in certain islands in Indonesia, such as Java, Kalimantan, and Sulawesi. Therefore, the more people enjoy eating insects, the healthier they will be. On the contrary, there are many statements which describe the disadvantageous of eating insects, such as poisioning and threatening our life in dangerous due to unknown viruses or bacterias. To be more specific, most of insects have a huge amount of poison in their body since they consume untrusted nutritions, which the public probably never know about it yet. Instead of supporting people's health, it provides a worse effect for the body. The most noticeable case regarding this issue is Covid-19 which made all around the world had to do lockdowns in their areas. According to scholars’ argument, it happened because many humans consumed insects and affected to their quality of health, while there was no specific medicine to cure them yet. As a result, this spreaded fastly and was contagious so that many people died. In conclusion, the number of insects in the globe nowadays is increasing. Then, some people argue that every country should generate edible insects as common foods since it provides traditional medicine and huge stamina. However, it has negative effects at the same time because insects have poisons and a huge number of odd viruses and bacterias in their body.