Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many companies choose to extend their budget on products advertising due to the positive effect on the advertisement. I hold the view that advertising plays an important role in boosting sales, but this phenomenon also indicates the demand of the society is increasing. To begin with, advertisement is a fresh method in product-selling during the past decades. It could appeal to customers to know about and even buy the products in the company in various forms, such as voice and images. For example, some companies will choose to invite famous singers to write songs for their products or use well-known melodies in their advertisements to attract customers. Besides, the advertisement can be spread by plenty of media, like the Internet and traditional media. It could give the information of the products to the public from all over the world, which is also an approach boost the sales of the products However, although advertisement spreads the products ’ information to the public, those advertisement is not the only reason for customers to buy the products. The real and practical use of the products should also be taken into account. For instance, a refrigerator might not be suitable for people who live in a cold country. In addition, the economic status of the society is also a vital factor for the company targets. In conclusion, advertisements have played an important role in a modern commercial society, but advertisement is not the only reason for increasing sales. The real needs of the customers also need to be considered.