These days, people work in more than one job, and often change career several times during their life. What are advantages and disadvantages of this.

Career progression is of pivotal importance in everyone’s life. Some people strive to achieve this by frequently changing careers and having more than one job. In my opinion, this practice has both pros and cons, and I would argue that it is better to have a single job and pursue the same career. On the positive side, greater exposure to various industries allows workers to upskill themselves. It allows them to progress quickly as more career opportunities are available to them. For instance, businesses are looking for workers who have experience in more than one industry for executive-level positions. Another reason is that people who have more than one job and often switch careers earn more and are better positioned to support themselves and their families. Furthermore, workers might want to settle for a career that gives them the greatest sense of satisfaction, and this might require them to change careers multiple times until they find the right one. Therefore, having multiple jobs and careers can be quite advantageous. However, on the flip side doing more than one job comes with increased work hours and pressure. In other words, It can be quite difficult to perform well under pressure and hence performance gets deteriorated. Changing roles too often can cause a state of confusion and make people lose sight of their career goals. Moreover, it can halt their career progression, as with every new job they have to start from scratch to get familiarized with the environment and build relations with colleagues. Thus, changing workplaces can be detrimental in the long run. In conclusion, it appears that doing more than one job and switching careers can bring in more income. But its downsides of extra workload and changing environments can be daunting and cannot be ignored.