Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. how true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars

It is argued that the main cause of traffic jam in many cities in the world is due to the amount of car ownership which has increased so fast during the past thirty years. In my view, I suppose to say it is certainly true because people tend to use their own transport to commute. First of all, the increasing amount of car ownership was caused by the payment system that the dealers gave. The most favourite way to pay is annually payment per month. In Indonesia, someone who wants to buy a motorcycle or car just need to bring her identification card to process the instal payment, which is so easy. Consequently, the traffic jam in Indonesia, especially in the capital city, Jakarta, is out of control. However, the government should take some actions to reduce traffic jam, such as increasing the tax for car ownership and adding more public transportation. People will think twice when they want to buy a car, and as a result most of them would prefer to go somewhere by bus, commuter line, or any other public transportations due to the lower price. At the end of the time, the traffic jam would gradually decrease. In conclusion, the big traffic jam in many cities is caused by the rising of car ownership. Even though the dealers offer the affordable price, people obviously would re-think about to have one if the government increase the tax and choose using public transportation to commute.