In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of advertisements which try to persuade children to buy snacks, toys, and other goods. Parents often claim that these ads are unfair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although it has been pointed out by some that the number of commercials aiming at young children has been increasing nowadays, which is beneficial to children ’s development, other people argue that it is unfair to tempt a child to purchase products by advertising. Personally, I completely agree with the latter idea as creating more and more advertisements to attract young individuals to buy items will bring a health problem. On the one hand, some individuals suggest increasing the number of advertisements targeting younger generations can widen their horizons. This is because those commercials are designed carefully by professional designers in order to promote goods whose ways of expression are unique and fascinating. Watching these advertisements is a great way for children to learn a wide range of means to present their ideas and feelings, which encourages them to think outside the box, thus cultivating creative thinking. For example, in China, a primary school student who won the winner of a clothing design competition by creating a plastic dress told journalists that her idea came from a Coco-Cola commercial, which included a robot wearing a plastic coat. On the other hand, other people, including me, opine that putting a significant majority of commercials that target children is harmful to their physical conditions. The reason is that those who are nearly ten years old are unable to distinguish between commercials and real products, as they have not become mature mentally and emotionally. If they watch a lot of advertisements presenting unhealthy food, such as chocolate and chips, which contains a high level of sugar and less nutrition, they are more likely to ask their parents to buy. As a result, eating too many unhealthy snacks makes young children more likely to get several illnesses. For instance, a vast proportion of parents who always are pestered to purchase snacks state that their sons or daughters are facing digestive issues as they are used to having more oily chips that are promoted on TV. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinion about whether it is fair to put an increasing percentage of commercials targeting young generations or not, while I am of the opinion that this is a dreadful situation as it is detrimental to a child’s physical well-being.