Compared to past, more people are now trying to learn a foreign language to increase their chances of landing a better job in their native country or to have better opportunities to work abroad. To what extent do you agree with this point of view?

There is always a demand for people who can help bridge the communication gap between two or more cultures, more so today than ever before. Therefore, an increasing number of people are choosing to learn a foreign language. And some believe that this also helps them in getting better jobs. Also, I completely agree with the given notions and the reasons for my agreement are discussed further. The first and foremost reason for my inclination towards the given notion is, being fluent in two or more languages gives an edge over monolingual candidates in job interviews in their native country. These opportunities exist in all companies and departments which range from marketing to tourism. For example, According to the U.S. Department of Labour estimates, there is a 42% rise in demand for interpreters and translators over the last decade. In addition to that, learning a foreign language, fluency will give me the opportunity to become a global employee. That is, international companies tend to widen their reach across the globe by hiring candidates who can blend in seamlessly with other cultures and fill the communication gap between them and their clients. For example, Canadian employers give first preference to the person who is fluent in both English and French, which can help global trade to the companies. In conclusion, becoming multilingual undoubtedly increases the chance of getting a highly paid job and an edge over the rest of the candidates with similar abilities. Also, landing a better job abroad have higher chances.