Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that children should start learning a second language at elementary schools rather than higher schools. This essay will demonstrate how this kind of studying brings convenience to children but also show that this can lead to such problems. Whilst acknowledging that there are drawbacks, this essay will argue that the benefits of the early studying of foreign languages outweigh the disadvantages. One of the main advantages is that learning a second language in many countries is very important and the earlier a student can learn the better for their future growth. Toddlers normally learn new things very quickly so they can have a lasting impression, which means that it boosts up their brain and enhance the performance. For example, in some certain countries like Singapore, students are educated to learn English from a very early age so they can speak and write as if it were their mother tongue. Moreover, learning a second language is fun and sometimes easy to learn so they will show more enthusiasm to learn a new language than they do in later stages. Hence, doing the practice of years and years will make the kids more fluent in using the language; and this helps in the development of their brains. However, there are still some disadvantages of studying a new language at an early age. First, it may create confusion between mother tongue and foreign language because, at that time, they have to learn not only their native language but also foreign one. Second, if they had to speak or write two languages at the same time, they would find trouble in the grammar or pronunciation of the new language. It means that they will be given an extra burden when approaching new things. In conclusion, although learning a new language can result in some troubles, it greatly improves the toddlers’ ability to learn. Thus, the positive effects of studying a non-native language definitely outweigh the negative.