Nowadays more and more tasks at home and at work are being performed by robots. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a negative or positive development?

At this time, several tasks are being performed by machines and not by humans. Working with robots can have more profits and less cost than working with people, and this is a huge change for society, with positives and negative consequences for human life. There is no doubt that we are at the beginning of a great change in how we see human life, and numerous reasons can be mentioned, such as consumer needs, or economic, political, social and technological reasons. For example, although the initial cost of buying machines may be higher, in a long time the savings can be considerable. It is a known fact that machines can be more productive than humans, not only for the precision or speed, also because the robots do not have any absenteeism by accidents or diseases. At home, the robots help us in daily duties, such as cooking, cleaning or security. Another important aspect to mention, is that robots do not have teams or personal conflicts and require minimum maintenance. The consequences of this trend could be positive or negative. On one side, if work is done by robots, the industries could increase their profits and reduce economic and productivity losses, being able to produce large quantities of products. Similarly, people can have more free time to enjoy themselves with the family, do a hobby or study. Nevertheless, society could have several social problems such as an increase in unemployment, a rise in crimes, drugs and mental illness. For example, in my city exist a huge number of homeless and drug addicts, because the closure of jobs and the automation of processes in mining. To conclude, robots are more and more involved in human life, not only for technology development in industries, also because robots are a good tool for daily living. However, it is strongly necessary to prepare us as a society for these changes, to prevent social and mental troubles and problems in the future.