Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advancements in medical science have helped human beings in many ways, however, an unregulated medical practice can lead to many controversies and one of them is abortion. According to a few, dropping a child should be considered under the law while others believe it is an illegal act. In my opinion, the regime should grant permission of aborting a child on a case-to-case basis. Firstly, many people think that aborting an unborn could aid in population control and the regime should legalise it. Though there are a plethora of contraceptive tools available in the market, none of them come with complete surety in about to their success ratio; hence single failure can cause a lifetime suffering from an unwanted child. For example, think about the parents having a complete family and due to the malfunction of condoms, they have to bear the responsibility of the new kid for the rest of their life which eventually contributes to the colossal surge in population. On the flip side, others consider that a killing fetus is totally inhuman and considering it under legislative procedure could create an immense problem such as gender imbalance. Though gender equality is no more taboo these days, it is not being practised equally in all geographic locations. To illustrate, certain families still prefer children of a specific gender and might consider abortion as the best option to get rid of unwanted ones which can lead to a massive imbalance in the man vs female sex ratio. In my opinion, while making abortion legal can benefit specific people, others might take disadvantage of it. Hence, lawmakers should craft efficient legislation so that each case can be treated based on the situation. For example, if a girl was raped, she must have a choice to abort the child regardless of the fetus's age. To conclude, in the contemporary world, abortion has become the topic of argument. While some are in favour to bring it under law, others are against it. I believe that instated of measuring all cases with the same yardstick, the government should allow it considering individual’s condition.