Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Many regard setting a standard retirement age for the working population of the nation irrespective of the professional background to be unethical. It is further argued that those who work under challenging working conditions should be given the freedom to withdraw from their careers at an early age. In my opinion, I am generally in agreement with this notion and governments have to be more considerate while taking such crucial state decisions. Adhering to a set retirement age negatively affects one’s personal desires, it reduces the flexibility and ability of an individual to decide on his or her future perspectives. For instance, workers who prefer to take early retirement in order to spend more time with their families are refrained due to such national regulations. Moreover, retirement is correlated with the level of a person’s psychological capability to work for an employer, thus, it is a fundamental human right to be free to choose when to bid farewell to one’s career. Moving on to the occupations that explicitly require an early retirement age are those which are associated with high levels of physical involvement. Whereas employees who are in the field of construction, carpentry, or even athletes, for that matter, are often prone to retire from their work-life much earlier, compared to professions such as teachers or administration staff. In conclusion, personally, I believe that retirement age depends on an individual's professional and personal circumstances, and therefore, cannot be generalized, hence, governments should consider fixing lower age limits for those who are engaged in challenging working conditions.