Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that music is a nice medium to bring people from different countries or having different ages together. While I consider that musical compositions or lyrics of many songs seem to be loved by many people in the world, I disagree that they are helpful in reducing the generation gap, in fact, the opposite is true in my personal view. People having different nationalities love similar kinds of music or songs in recent times. This is primarily because musicians and lyricists prefer to portray the culture or even ways of living of their people in their creations, and hence, foreigners often choose to listen to the music of different areas in order to become aware of practices and traditions followed in different countries. For instance, the songs composed by A. R. Rehman, who is one of the renowned Indian singers and music composers, are hugely popular in the world as they usually reflect the emotions and culture of India. In this manner, I believe music reduces the differences between countries. However, I believe the recently made songs or music rises the differences between people having different ages. While many young people love listening to pop music or rap songs, most elderly people hate these styles of music and, instead, enjoy songs having positive or motivational meanings. A recent survey, for example, has revealed that the Bollywood songs composed in the 20th century are loved immensely by the old people in India, whereas Indian children hate these songs. This is why I think music has the least or no effect on bringing people of different ages together. To conclude, although it makes sense to me that music, in general, brings people of different locality or nation together, I would argue that it increases the gap between young and old people due to differences in the musical preference.