It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

More than any time in history, the young generation are not willing to read. The purpose of this essay is to discuss why I believe this event is occurring and indicate some measures that can be taken by parents and educators in order to overcome this matter. One of the cogent reasons I believe it is associated with the difficult behind making pupils to read is the lack of incentive. As parents are speding long hours on the internet, children are following their model by choosing to play video games or be on social media in their spare time, instead of reading. In addition, schools are forcing students to research online rather than acquiring this knowledge through books or e-books. For example, many educational institutions have more computers rooms than libraries. Fortunately, there are some actions that can be taken in order to alleviate this problem. The most effective measure to deal with the absence of incentive, parents can promote reading as a habit in exchange of something that the younsters like. For example, teenagers have mention about the exchage made with their parents, where they could spend the same amount of time online after reading a book. To address the support for reading at schools, such institutions could promote reading camps, where the students can do activities together with reading. In conclusion, the main reasons related to the difficult to get childreen to read is caused by parents that do not incentivate incentivise the young generation to read, as well as schools that do not promote reading as a way to study. To solve these, reading can be seen as a habit in the homes being taught throughout generations and schools can create activities to be combines with reading.