Large Shopping Malls Are Replacing Small Shops. Your Opinion? Good Or Bad

The retail sector in India is witnessing a huge revamping exercise as traditional markets make way for new formats such as departmental stores, hypermarkets, supermarkets, and specialty stores. The urbanization of residential locations, double income families, increased household income, a growing exposure to foreign lifestyles, increased aspiration of consumers, health consciousness and the convenience of one-stop shopping are major driving forces which attracts consumers to the organized shopping in large scale Mega Mall. There are many advantages large shopping malls can offer compared to small retailers. Firstly, department stores and supermarkets can provide customers with a wide range of options with various prices. Additionally, it is self-evident that people can receive many excellent services when shopping in shopping centers. For instance, unlike small retailers which do not usually have any special service, large shops usually offer discounts for loyal customers, leading to a significant increase in the purchase. Regardless of their endless advantages, they do have some disadvantages. The malls are taking away local and small shops thus the decision to promote large shopping malls taking the bread out of the mouths of many people. The shopkeepers are left with no means of earning a living. Only a few customers buy products from small local shops and the practice is greatly affecting the local economy. To conclude, the large shopping malls do have their advantages, but depletion of small shops causing an imbalance in the economy outweighs their advantages. Hence the policy makers are suggested to give adequate importance to the views of small retailers while taking the policy decisions.